Commercial break of awesome

Commercials usually are boring and just produced cheaply to get a simple point across. For most companies, it is enough; it gets their product out there. Some companies go above and beyond the average commercial, and make masterpieces that I would actually search for to watch. Not only that, but in the silliness and general awesome of the commercial, it still demonstrates the product (most of the time).

I’m sure everyone knows the kind of commercials I’m talking about. Some of them are really obvious. Some of them less so. Here are a few that I love.

The Man Your Man Could Smell Like

Let’s get the obvious choice out of the way. It is hard to argue the awesomeness of the commercial. It is a perfect melange of a random, yet entertaining series of events and a man who is not equal to anyone on this earth. Sure, this debuted at the Super Bowl, at which every single commercial is insane, yet unlike all those commercials, this one makes perfect sense. So much so that I have memorized this commercial. I think it’s made me a better man. Pretty much all the Old Spice commercials after this one apply as well, but this one is the most awesome.

Yellow Pages Mobile App Ads

I have no clue if these are running anywhere else but Canada, so I’m unsure if this is obvious to the rest of the world. Anyways, there are three of these advertisements, and each one is as funny as the last (this one being my favourite). They’re each random, one implies lesbianism and one edges on disturbing. Yet they grab your attention, make you laugh, and make sure you know that you can get shit quick with the app.

BMW M Commercial

How do you say “down boy” in German? Stomp on the goddamn pedal, that’s how! It is a beautiful, simple commercial. Dobermans are intimidating. I’m sure if you had one barking at you, you’d probably want to run away and not take your chances. The BMW M engine’s exhaust note is even more intimidating, and the thunderous noise coming from that straight-6 would make you piss your pants, or come in them.

Ally Bank

Kids are amusing. Messing with kids is even more amusing. So when a man in a suit comes into a series of commercials treating kids unfairly, we take notice and laugh. Then we understand that banks are sadistic bastards who pull your strings every goddamn day. Makes perfect sense.

Terry Tate: Office Linebacker

I have no clue what Reebok is selling in this commercial, but I’m buying it anyhow. The thought of Terry Tate tackling me for not doing so has me shitting my pants.

Super Smash Bros.

There’s nothing better than beating other things up, other than random beatings in comical situations. This even takes it to another level. Donkey Kong tossing that motherfucker Pikachu around? Sign me up!

~ by The Slurpee Man on August 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
