Illegal to teach all information?

I hate writing about politics. I’m quite uninformed, and really, I don’t pick sides; I pick ideals. I’ve come to the point where I know I’ll offend someone by saying something, so I’d rather not say anything at all.

This article got to me though. It isn’t the first time that schools have been affected by religious views, yet every time, it’s just as annoying. I have nothing wrong with teaching abstinence, but as the only solution? That doesn’t work. It’s disheartening that jail time can even come into play, even though this was set in Wisconsin recently:

…under the new law, which was backed by Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin, schools that do must teach a range of topics, including the benefits of abstinence, the proper use of contraceptives, how to make responsible decisions and the criminal penalties for underage sex.

So, why does the DA then feel it’s alright to take away an important part of the sex-ed lesson plan, despite the fact that his county had a teen birth rate of a whopping 33.9 percent? I really do hope that teachers don’t take the threat seriously though, and I’d hope that the state stands behind them too.

~ by The Slurpee Man on April 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
