Looking back at 2009

Well, if you’re in the Eastern time zone, there’s 5 hours left in 2009. If you’re in Britain or further east, Happy New Year! Anyways, 2009 was an eventful year. A handful of celebrities died. In Canadian politics, instead of getting along, they decided to instead disassemble. In the US, well, Prop 8 and health care bill. Ahmadinejad and Iran shook up, as well as some other things. And let’s not forget Tiger’s inability to drive turning into a public image beating.

As for me, it was a lame roller coaster ride. Boring for a while, then I went up north and hung with various vicious animals (which overpopulated humans there), then it fell again as I had to take a year off. But my life is boring, and you wouldn’t want to hear about me anyways.

My opinions, on the other hand… well, maybe. If you do care, here are a couple of Top 5’s of the Year.

Music

2009 was a seemingly good year for music, assuming you weren’t looking into the armpit of mindlessness. Okay fine, I can say that I partied many-a-times to the mindless music, but it seems that it wasn’t so much music being made, but background noise. Stepping away from the cynicism, I did enjoy quite a few albums this year. Some albums surprised me, while many disappointed as well. Guess I should get to the list then.

5. OSI – Blood
4. Riverside – Anno Domini High Definition
3. maudlin of the Well – Part The Second
2. Mastodon – Crack the Skye
1. Porcupine Tree – The Incident

Anyone who knows my taste in music already knows that this list, with one exclusion (which I’ll get to later), is not surprising at all. Having a soft spot for Prog, it makes up (arguably) all of my list. That being said, some will wonder where Dream Theater’s Black Clouds & Silver Linings was. While I love Dream Theater, their new album was nothing new or special. It was good, but nothing jumped out at you. It lacked direction.

Otherwise, there are a few other albums that narrowly missed out. First of all, Between the Buried and Me’s album The Great Misdirect barely missed out (an album that sounds more like Dream Theater than Dream Theater, oddly), other honorable mentions go to (in no particular order) Steven Wilson’s Insurgentes, Dethklok’s Dethalbum II, Isis’ Wavering Radiant, and Muse’s The Resistance.

Movies

I didn’t watch many movies this year, therefore I really don’t have too many movies I’d even want to consider. I’ve forgotten to watch some movies (see: Star Trek, Paranormal Activity, Avatar), and basically, because of a large disconnection from the outside world for two months, I only have three movies on my list for this year.

3. Up
2. District 9
1. Inglourious Basterds

Up really did surprise me. Even though from the previews, I knew I wanted to see it, I didn’t think I’d like it as much as I did. District 9 was also very interesting, and was done beautifully. But as soon as I saw the first preview for Inglourious Basterds, I knew there was nothing else this year like it.

Games

There were three games that I had highly anticipated this year. While they all made the list, the most anticipated of the group ended up being the one I enjoyed the least (out of the three). There are other games still left on my plate (Borderlands, Dragon Age, Uncharted 2), but I had a good grasp of what was what to me.

5. Brutal Legend
4. Pokemon Platinum (US release, still counts)
3. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
2. Forza Motorsport 3
1. Assassin’s Creed II

Well, since I went off on the fact that I don’t find Modern Warfare 2 as enjoyable as my other two highly anticipated games (Forza 3, Assassin’s Creed II), that is mostly due to the multiplayer. I seriously don’t find it enjoyable at all. The part of the game where I thought I’d get the most replay time has horribly disappointed me, but that shouldn’t take away from the rest of the game.

That being said, Assassin’s Creed II blew me out of the water. It has not only made up for the first game, but with its storyline, puts itself ahead, as far as story goes, of series like Metal Gear Solid. It totally deserves the #1 spot.

Biggest Media Blunder

Goddamn Octomom. Never before has someone caused the world to successfully recreate the plot to an episode of The Simpsons than her. Balloon Boy was shown as a fraud relatively quickly, Tiger Woods is now single, and Alfie, the 13-year old father, isn’t the father. So Octomom wins. Maybe there’s someone better, but I can’t think of one.

The Dunce Award

I’m going to have to give this to an unknown man from when I was back in Toronto. I have no clue who he is, nor do I know his name, but boy do I know he deserves this award. It was a cool Tuesday night, and I was walking back from Sociology class. Walking down College St., I notice an agressive driver in a van, in the middle lane of the road, behind a taxi. This guy is yelling and honking his horn. Instead of using logic and changing lanes, he instead decides to take a hard u-turn. Not knowing that vans have, generally, a horrible turning radius, he did it anyways. In the act of the u-turn, he passed both opposing lanes, and turned right into a light post. Congratulations, mystery driver, you are The Biggest Idiot of 2009.

Anyways, Happy New Year everybody!

~ by The Slurpee Man on December 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
